8 New Books for January 2018

Released 4th January



Sky Chasers – Emma Carroll
(author of Letters From The Lighthouse)
Orphan Magpie can’t believe her eyes when she sees a boy swept off his feet by a kite … or something that twists and dances in the wind. She goes to his rescue only to find herself dangling in the sky. The world looks so different from on high and suddenly Magpie knows what she wants – to be the first to fly in a balloon above the King and Queen of France …



The Light Jar – Lisa Thompson
(author of Goldfish Boy)
Nate and his mother are running away, hiding out in a tumbledown cottage in the middle of a forest. When Mum heads off for provisions, and then doesn’t return, Nate is left alone and afraid, with the dark closing in all around him. But comfort can come from the most unexpected of places – an intriguing girl on a mission to solve a decades-old treasure hunt, and the reappearance of an old friend from his past…



Sky Song – Abi Elphinstone
(author of the Dreamsnatcher trilogy and Winter Magic)
In the snowy kingdom of Erkenwald, whales glide between icebergs, wolves hunt on the tundra and polar bears roam the glaciers. But the people of this land aren’t so easy to find – because Erkenwald is ruled by an evil Ice Queen and the tribes must stay hidden or risk becoming her prisoners at Winterfang Palace.



The Peculiars – Kieran Larwood
(author of the Blue Peter Award-winning Podkin One-Ear)
The Peculiars are a band of misfits, trapped in a nightly Victorian sideshow. There’s Wolfgirl, Sheba; Sister Moon, who can move at the speed of light; and Monkey Boy, ace climber and human stink bomb. But during the day, in a world of childsnatchers, grave robbers and dastardly doctors, they solve the mysteries no one else cares about – including why London’s poorest children are being snatched from the banks of the Thames…



How To Avoid Certain Death – Tom Clempson
(author of Jack Samsonite series)

Charlie and Sarah are BORED. They live in the middle of nowhere with their dull grandparents who refuse to let them do anything exciting. But one day, adventure comes knocking when their grandparents are captured by the most terrifying pirate of all time – Vladimir Death Pirate. Charlie and Sarah launch an immediate rescue mission, setting sail to find their grandparents… in a bathtub. Perfect for fans of MY BROTHER IS A SUPERHERO, this is a quirky, hilariously funny adventure full of warring pirates, terrifying zombie bunnies and a magical wish-granting island.

Released 11th January


I Swapped My Brother On The Internet – Jo Simmons
(author of the Pip Street series and Super Loud Sam

Everyone has dreamed of being able to get rid of their brother or sister at one time or another – but for Jonny, the dream is about to become a reality with SiblingSwap.com! What could be better than someone awesome to replace Ted, Jonny’s obnoxious older brother.

But finding the perfect brother isn’t easy, as Jonny discovers when Sibling Swap sends him a line of increasingly bizarre replacements: first a merboy, then a brother raised by meerkats, and then the ghost of Henry the Eighth! What’s coming next?! Suddenly old Ted isn’t looking so bad. But can Jonny ever get him back?



The 1000 Year Old Boy – Ross Welford
(author of Time Travelling With A Hamster)
Alfie Monk is like any other nearly teenage boy except he’s 1,000 years old and can remember the last Viking invasion of England. Obviously no one believes him.So when everything Alfie knows and loves is destroyed in a fire, and the modern world comes crashing in, Alfie embarks on a mission to find friendship, acceptance, and a different way to live…which means finding a way to make sure he will eventually die.

Released – 25th January



A Far Away Magic- Amy Wilson
(author of A Girl Called Owl)
When Angel moves to a new school after the death of her parents, she isn’t interested in making friends. Until she meets Bavar – a strange boy, tall, awkward and desperate to remain unseen, but who seems to have a kind of magic about him. Everyone and everything within Bavar’s enchanted house is urging him to step up and protect the world from a magical rift through which monsters are travelling, the same monsters that killed Angel’s parents.

But Bavar doesn’t want to follow the path that’s been chosen for him – he wants to be normal; to disappear. Fighting one another as well as their fears, Angel and Bavar must find a way to repair the rift between the worlds, and themselves, before it’s too late . . .

One thought on “8 New Books for January 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *