New Books For May 2018

It’s the 1st of May so it’s time to look ahead to some books that have caught my eye. These titles will be hitting the shelves over the next few weeks. As always there’s some fantastic titles to keep you reading until June.



The House With Chicken Legs – Sophie Anderson
Sophie Anderson’s debut novel is a stunning retelling of the Baba Yaga tale from Eastern European folklore

Marinka dreams of a normal life, where her house stays in one place long enough for her to make friends. But her house has chicken legs and moves on without warning.

For Marinka’s grandmother is Baba Yaga, who guides spirits between this world and the next. Marinka longs to change her destiny and sets out to break free from her grandmother’s footsteps, but her house has other ideas…



The House With Chicken Legs – Sophie Anderson
Author of The Bookshop Girl returns with an adventure suitable for fans of Cogheart.

When Max is sent by train from Paris to Istanbul to stay with her boring Great Aunt-Elodie, little does she expect to be plunged into a thrilling adventure across Europe. And when the mysterious Heartbreak Diamond goes missing, Max must find her feet in a whirling world of would-be diamond smugglers, thieves and undercover detectives. Will she discover the real diamond thief before they reach their destination?



The Mystery of the Colour Thief – Ewa Jozefkowicz
This highly impressive debut dropped through my door a few weeks ago – I’m so glad it did!

Ever since the ‘Blackest Day’, Izzy has suffered from nightmares of a shadowy thief who threatens to steal all the colour from her world. One by one, colours seep from the mural painted by her mum on her bedroom wall but nobody else can see the change. Izzy needs to do everything she can to stop them disappearing completely.

With a mystery to solve, Izzy must uncover the identity of the stranger who haunts her dreams, but she can’t do it alone – she needs the help of her new friend Toby, who is kind, caring and incredibly resilient.



How To Bee – Bren MacDibble
New Zealand-born author Bren MacDibble’s explores the all-too-likely near future scenario of a world without bees.

Brave and fierce nine year-old Peony wants more than anything to become a ‘bee’ – scrambling around in the fruit trees, pollinating them by hand with delicate feathers. But her mother wants her to leave the shack in the orchard and go live with her in the big city, where the people live behind high walls.



Spirit – Sally christie
Another intriguing book by the publishers that brought you Thornhill and The Book of Dust

Matt is new, quiet and shy. Jazzy is outspoken, popular, confident. They’d never normally be friends. But things in the village of Burnham Stone aren’t normal: Matt has seen something extraordinary up in Burnham Wood. And Jazzy is the only one who believes him. With the help of Matt’s little dog and Jazzy’s little sister, the two make surprising discoveries – and unleash such a powerful force that nothing can ever be the same again.



The Company of Eight – Harriet Whitehorn
A beautifully written adventure story for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars from the award-winning author of the Violet series.

Cass has always wanted to audition as an acrobat for the famous Circus Boat that sails the warm seas of the Longest World. But when her chance is snatched away, she comes up with a new plan. Soon she has secured a job on the Palace Boat, following the circus around the islands. Yet Cass has been invited on the boat for a very different reason – and it’s not long before she is embroiled with thieves, sword fighters and a mysterious group of women called The Company of Eight…



Aru Shah and the End of Time – Roshani Chokshi
Think Percy Jackson with an Indian twist.

Is the ancient Lamp of Bharata in the Museum of Indian Arts really cursed? Aru says that’s rubbish. We say: uh-oh! Aru is sure the myth is just a silly story. After all, she’s always stretching the truth a little – pretending to be a princess, or to have a chauffeur. So she doesn’t think there’s any harm in lighting the lamp. Trouble is, some stories are true. And when Aru lights that lamp, she wakes the God of Destruction, and freezes her whole family in time.



Hoakes Island – Helen Friel and Ian Friel
An ingenious puzzle based adventure. Can you solve the mystery and save Hoakes Island?

Henry Hoakes has gone missing and Hoakes Island Amusement Park is in grave danger. This notebook, a hastily assembled collection of diary entries, notes, puzzles and clues, is the only key to find out what’s happened to Henry and stop the dastardly developers who want to knock down the park.

Solve the puzzles and discover keys and clues as you travel around the island on a quest to rescue Rita the anteater, Granville the gorilla and the rest of the talking animals who live there. It’s a race against time that only a puzzle master can win!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *